Age limit for an Airline

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kmaceri

Well two days ago, I went to my a small airliner at my local airport that takes people all over the southeast as well as a new taxi service to Atlanta Hartfield. Which is 20 minutes from our airport by air. I was recommended by two employees that work at the airliner called Wings Air for there new FO program. Its a training program and non-paid FO position, all we need is multi-commercial which I have. I sat down with the chief pilot, had a good interview and was accepted only to find out right after by a lady dispacther working there that there I was to young to work for them. The chief pilot never heard of it, but postponed my paperwork until he finds out if it was true. I'm 18 years old and I would think since I am a commercial pilot, which means I can fly for hire, I should be able to fly for them. Unless maybe insurance or policy, but if it was a policy then the chief pilot should of known that from the start. Anyone have an answer or input???

Oh yeah, there operations are part 135, but I think they might switch to 121.

Hey its a good way to build hours and good experience to put down on a resume. Better than renting a multi engine airplane. Plus I own my own lawn care business so I get a good income.

Its no different than working for the local ma and pa's burger shop for free, just so you can earn enough burger flipping time to get hired at McDonalds. Places like these drag down the profession more than it already is.

Get your CFI and MEI and teach. Then you can put that on your resume. You will learn as much if not more than your first few students and you will arm yourself with the skills needed to safely and confidently move on up the professional ladder.

Hey its a good way to build hours and good experience to put down on a resume. Better than renting a multi engine airplane. Plus I own my own lawn care business so I get a good income.