ELT question

captainphil

I know I should really know this, I have a good understanding of it but I just want to be sure, is it a good idea to get into the habit of checking your ELT after every landing? But I studied in the oral that you can only check it 5 minutes after the hour , what if I landed at a time of 1:30 as opposed to 1:05 how can I check that I didn't set off the ELT if it falls after the 5 min after the hour time frame? and if I wanted to check it I would just put in 121.5 and than once it's on the frequency how do I determine if my elt was activated?

If you tune in 121.5 and there is an ELT going off, you'll sure as heck know. Now, how to know if it's yours or not? No way really, unless you have one of the new ELTs that states the N number every 2 minutes.

You are supposed to check it at :05 after and we are required to check it on the C-5 as part of our preflight and I can tell you I do it whatever the time is. If I waited until :05 after the hour, it would mess up my SOE and create a headache. In the 10+ years of flying, it has never been an issue (except for a short time when our controllers were getting bent out of shape about it.) Would I check it after EVERY flight? Not me...it's kinda what you want to do or what your school/FBO policy is. In GA flying, I will check it PRIOR to flight if I am flying over a remote area.

Yes, dial in 121.5 and you will hear the sweeps...make it SHORT and sweet.

so if I tune in 121.5 , all I have to do is listen? And this can be done legally at anytime? If that's the case why do they state check 5 minutes after the hour? I'm scaring myself, I know I should know this entirely but I guess t hat's what JC's good for.It can't be mine if it's in the armed postion right?