Navy Enlisted Needing a JOB

kirkusn

Hello so i was just trying to see what is out there for me and what path i should take. I currently am in the Navy i get out in oct. I have been working on F18 powerplants for the past 3 and 1/2 years. I also have my ppl and instrument rating with about 220 hrs and i dont know what i should do when i get out i need to get a decent job, maby even somewhere where they will help me out getting cfi? i am in california but am willing to relocate. Any advice would be appricated

Thanks

What's up, Sailor.

The powerplants experience is worthless without the A&P, and the PPL/Instrument tickets are worthless without the Commercial cert.

You have the G.I. Bill?

I was an AT1 that got forced out of the Navy in July of '06 after 16 years due to the new body fat standards. I was in VX-9 in China Lake and received no help from the Command. I was a Private Pilot at the time. My Dad was also very sick and passed away the next month so I basically had no chocei but to move back home to OH from California.

I went through three avionics jobs between September '06 to July of '07. I decided after the third one to get my IR, both Comm's and CFI so I went to Career Pilot School in Kansas City. Well, I never made it to the beginning of CFI training when I had been there 3.5 months so I quit the school and they took at least $5000 from me as a penalty. I wanted out of there and they wanted me to come back 4 months later. All this time I had been living on education loans, unemployment and what I got from the VA which is actually pretty good and nearly what I would have gotten for 20 years retirement. All I had for my trouble's were IR, CSEL and CMEL, no CFI, CFII and MEI like I was supposed to have.

I moved back to OH and concentrated on my CFI from November '07 on to April 7th, 2008 when I finally got the check ride done after many attempts and weather cancellations.