Acknowledging ATC

troopernflight

As a police officer I'm used to dispatch calling me and then I'll acknowledge them, and they will go ahead with their traffic. Whereas ATC just calls out your sign and goes ahead with the transmission. Do you guys get really pissed off when we ask you to repeat the transmission? As a new pilot I am often doing something (writing down checkpoint info, looking at the sectional, computing different things, etc.), and I sometimes will catch the end of the transmission, but realize that I don't remember what they started out saying. (Not to mention that you guys have learned to talk faster than the guys that blurt the legal jargon at the end of an auto sales commercial) I assume I'll learn to deal with it, but it's tough to pilot solo and deal with ATC. I guess I shouldn't talk to you controllers about multitasking, considering you can probably eat with one hand, type with the other, key the mic with your toes, and argue with your significant other on the blue tooth....:D

As a police officer I'm used to dispatch calling me and then I'll acknowledge them, and they will go ahead with their traffic. Whereas ATC just calls out your sign and goes ahead with the transmission. Do you guys get really pissed off when we ask you to repeat the transmission? As a new pilot I am often doing something (writing down checkpoint info, looking at the sectional, computing different things, etc.), and I sometimes will catch the end of the transmission, but realize that I don't remember what they started out saying. (Not to mention that you guys have learned to talk faster than the guys that blurt the legal jargon at the end of an auto sales commercial) I assume I'll learn to deal with it, but it's tough to pilot solo and deal with ATC. I guess I shouldn't talk to you controllers about multitasking, considering you can probably eat with one hand, type with the other, key the mic with your toes, and argue with your significant other on the blue tooth....:D