Challenger 300 Turbulence Death - Prelim Released

I'll say that my initial training was pretty soft ball'ish on the airframe. Things tended to get a lot more interesting during my recurrents. I actually had a scenario similar to this in the sim, accept mine scenerio was a trim runaway at low altitude and 200kts. It was quite manageable. But of course, I've been flying the plane since 2015 and follow the checklist.

The training centers are under pressure to pass people because of how customer service oriented the training business in corporate aviation. They is little balance between quality training that handing out 100 lashings. The Montreal training center had an instructor infamous for handing out failures like tic tacs. He hated his job and wanted everyone to feel his rapture. So pilots and companies stopped using Montreal as an option training. The other training centers would be booked solid on the airframe while Montreal would be empty because of this. The guy eventually got canned. But Montreal is still stuck with the reputation.
As a former Program manager, TCE, 142 evaluator, check airman at one of the school houses. I can emphatically say that we never pushed to "pass" people. I mean sure in GS there was an element of cooperate and graduate - however, our failure rate was on par with what I saw on the 121 sides. A lot of times, retrained/ rechecked and progressive checks are misunderstood and it does differ from 121 in the sense that an Unsat may be retrained until proficient. We did commit resources and time to lagging students, however we didn't push them through.