A note to the new folks. This is a workplace.

You were right. No question about it. And I'm changing the subject with surprising regularity. Thankfully I'm also a varsity level slam clicker.

Only problem is that it's the cultural norm here to buy probationary FOs meals and the beverage of their choice.

If you are varsity level slam clicker, then I was a pro...haha. A few times I went out with someone that would be rude to servers and that was enough for me. I'd rather not deal with how people are. Politics, religion, being rude. I just got tired of it really fast. I'd bend over backward for a probie but most wouldn't bring it up and I was guilty of not asking. Quite honestly, the newer guys did such a good job you didn't know they were newbs. The best Capts are the ones that take note of the problem Capts and make the choice to not be like that.

Last edited:
The easiest way out of a political discussion, and trust me this usually works 90% of the time. You say "I'm not into politics and know nothing about it. It has never been interesting to me." Usually the person will get it and move on to something else because they are looking for an advocate to their political opinion and now know they wont be getting that from you. In the event the person says something stupid like "You should be" respond with "Hey, did you watch The Last of Us on HBO yet?" and if they say "No, I'm not into that stuff" respond back with "You should be, its amazing"

I'll talk about anything with anyone....for a finite amount of time. You wanna talk politics for 4 hours, no thanks. You wanna talk cars for 4 hours, no thanks. You wanna talk contract negotiations for 4 hours, no thanks. 30 mins on any of those as long as it doesn't escalate beyond a discussion I'm ok. If the body language of the other person changes then it's time to change subjects.