Flight Training while on F1/OPT.

Shiftace

s***posting with decency. trolling with integrity.
Hello folks:

I'm a student on a F1 visa. I have completed my bachelors degree and now I am on my OPT(internship) which is valid for 29 months. I have finished 12 months of that. I am working about 20 hours a week, and am interested in getting my ratings on the side. Is it OK to do this? I have heard different things and some say that as long as SEVIS knows about this - it is perfectly fine to do training on the F visa. Also the students won't have to go thru the TSA screening. I know earlier people could come on a tourist visa and state that the flight training for recreational purposes

Any thoughts would be much appreciated. Also what ratings can I get, while am working at this? I can go thru a Commercial rating

Cheers

Sunny

Hello folks:

I'm a student on a F1 visa. I have completed my bachelors degree and now I am on my OPT(internship) which is valid for 29 months. I have finished 12 months of that. I am working about 20 hours a week, and am interested in getting my ratings on the side. Is it OK to do this? I have heard different things and some say that as long as SEVIS knows about this - it is perfectly fine to do training on the F visa. Also the students won't have to go thru the TSA screening. I know earlier people could come on a tourist visa and state that the flight training for recreational purposes

Any thoughts would be much appreciated. Also what ratings can I get, while am working at this? I can go thru a Commercial rating

Cheers

Sunny