Networking Etiquette

SteveCostello

My member is well-known.
So... I'll be starting up my flight training through a local FBO relatively soon (within a month or so). I'd also like to get a jump on my networking. Ultimately, my career goal is a Part 91 job, if that helps frame things.

So, what is the proper way to go about networking at an FBO or around the ramp? I would think there is a fine line between a casual encounter vs. someone who is clearly desperate. I mean... how do you even initiate? What do you do? Simply start up a conversation ("How 'bout those Cards?), offer to wash a plane or two? Just not sure how that all shakes out, and I'm sure a lot of you folks have plenty of experience in those matters. I have experience networking at conferences within my current line of work (software development), so it's not like I'm a green-behind-the-ears high schooler that is all googly-eyed about the shiny airplanes (well... ok, so I'm a 41-year old professional that is all googly-eyed about the shiny airplanes).

Anyway, some pointers about networking etiquette around the airport, and how to get the most out of networking on both sides of the equation (I would obviously benefit the most, initially, from networking, but is there something I can give back?) would be most appreciated.