Logging IMC when not current

dmahan

I am a CFI, but not instrument current. I went flying today in IMC with an instrument rated and current private pilot friend of mine. We took turns flying, any other day we would either just split the time or call it an instruction flight and both take all the time and log his time as dual given. Today was different though being in IMC.

Can I log the IMC time and the approach (and count the approach towards currency)? My argument is that I cannot as I was not legal to act as PIC in that situation. The argument could also be made that I am a rated pilot acting within the limits of my certificate.

I don't want someone to see actual time being logged without me being able to prove currency. Probably won't ever be an issue, but I still want to keep the logbook as correct as possible.

The question is not if you can log the time or not. If you fly it, you log it.

The question is, can you fly IMC without being qualified? With another qualified Instructor? yes. Giving dual to your student who is rated to fly in IMC? possibly... Splitting time with your buddy, no.

61.57(c) said:
(c) Instrument experience. Except as provided in paragraph (e) of this section, a person may act as pilot in command under IFR or weather conditions less than the minimums prescribed for VFR only if:
(1) Use of an airplane, powered-lift, helicopter, or airship for maintaining instrument experience. Within the 6 calendar months preceding the month of the flight, that person performed and logged at least the following tasks and iterations in an airplane, powered-lift, helicopter, or airship, as appropriate, for the instrument rating privileges to be maintained in actual weather conditions, or under simulated conditions using a view-limiting device that involves having performed the following—
(i) Six instrument approaches.
(ii) Holding procedures and tasks.
(iii) Intercepting and tracking courses through the use of navigational electronic systems.