Becoming an Aircraft Broker....

AUpilot

I am a full-time corporate pilot working for a great company (Part 91) and flying a Lear 40XR...life is good. Our flight department flies about 300 hours per year and with 3 full-time pilots I have a little extra time on my hands.
I have always had the itch to help others buy and sell airplanes as a side business. Having helped a few friends research their airplanes I am confident that I can run a successful small brokering business on the side. Whether it's strictly focusing on being a buys agent or an all-encompassing broker doesn't matter to me at this point. I have read a few of the threads on this site and gained a wealth of knowledge from those threads and thought I would use my first post on this site to try and pull any more info I can out of you guys that make a living doing this. My goals are simply to add a little extra income by doing something I really enjoy....

From personal experience, putting time in with an established company will help you learn the ropes.

You need somebody you trust to do pre-buys, an escrow banker, title research company, liability ins. Never put money in that you can't afford to lose

I have two reputable mechanics available and I do have an escrow company that I used when helping another company purchase a late model Baron. I remember using a title research company but for some reason I recall them being tied in with the escrow company...I could be way off on that as it was several years ago.

Thanks for the input!!