Question About ATP Program

dejayou

Hello everyone, this is my first post here. I am currently three semesters (expect to graduate Dec. 2010) away from getting my B.S. I have always wanted to be a pilot, and in high school I was lucky enough to get about 20 hours paid for me. I have always longed to get back into the air, and I think, after I graduate, I will go for my dream. I have begun looking into flight school options, and ATP's total immersion programs seem to be a good fit for how I learn. I was wondering what your thoughts were on the ACPP with Gulfstream First Officer Internship program. To me, it seems like a good opportunity to get a lot of experience, but I am rather new to all of the qualifications and what not. Any information and/or opinions would be appreciated!
Thanks

Welcome to JC! You will get responses from both sides of the fence here regarding this subject (and most others too). Since this topic has been discussed many times, my suggestion is the search function and read the past threads. If they don't answer your questions, then post specific questions and you will get some answers. I went there, worked there, and have moved on since, so you can PM me also if you want.

It's all good. JC has been around for a while and the mods do a good job of not deleting even the most heated threads. So there's a lot of information to digest.

Having completed my private and the ACPP program at ATP I can say I sort of recommend it. If you can find a great instructor and good equipment at a lower price somewhere else, I recommend exploring that option.

I like to think I have a keen ability to take a step back from a situtation and analyze alternatives. Aside from the bringing down the industry argument, I think forking out $25k (possibly $25k + interest) to go to Gulfstream "academy" and perform a function that other guys are out there getting paid (even menial wages) seems kinda dumb. YMMV (your mileage may vary)