Training with G1000s

Jdehawk

So I'm new to the glass cockpit scene. I've been getting a few hours on them and am getting to the point where I don't know that I'm going to want to go back! One of the things I'm wondering is what some of the training procedures are for training IFR students for emergency situations. I'm used to keeping it to lost comms & partial panel scenarios for the main emergency topics in the old school planes. How do I train students effectively in glass cockpit planes to prepare them for failures of the equipment? Any good tips? Any good reading resources? Thanks!

Do you have access to an FTD with the G1000?
Good failures for IFR:
GDU
AHRS
Are you flying 172s? If so, the ADC and AHRS are the same circuit breaker, so typically you practice a double failure.

Are there any issues pulling the CB inflight then re-engaging it?

While Cessna advises against it. That's from the factory. Like Roger said, I have never had a problem with it. Just know what you are doing when you pull the circuit breaker and things go wrong. I worked under a Class B so I had to go outside of the Mode C ring before I could pull the breaker, but it worked. Then the students actually go to see an emergency.

I don't know about them but I hear the G1000 covers from Sporty's don't work to well.

Just be careful with it. I won't pull the AHRS breaker if we are or are planning to be in actual.
Edit:
I echo what braunpilot said-know what you're doing.
For example: pulling a GDU CB kills the associated nav/com, so make sure you're ready if the student doesn't set the live com back to ATC.
Also, an ADC failure may kill your mode C readout (at least it did one time in the DA42).

I printed the instructor/examiner pdf straight off of garmins website and pulled all kind of breakers in the DA40. The PFD, MFD, ADC, and AHRS...I figure if Garmin publishes it, it can't hurt.