Logging Landings/Approaches

LucasM

As a CFI, can I log the landings? I'm not the "manipulator of the controls", but I was just curious since I'm just starting out. Also, can I log instrument apps. that my students do? I don't really remember readin ganything about that.

I log the landings because whether I am on the controls completely, somewhat or not at all... I am still 100% mentally involved and responsible for each and every landing that my student does with me in the right seat. My hands and feet are always .01 microseconds away from taking over, if needed.

I log the landings because whether I am on the controls completely, somewhat or not at all... I am still 100% mentally involved and responsible for each and every landing that my student does with me in the right seat. My hands and feet are always .01 microseconds away from taking over, if needed.

You can log whatever you want, but if your logbook is a record of your piloting experiences for the purposes of currency and advanement, you shouldn't follow this advice.

Section 61.57: Recent flight experience: Pilot in command.

(a) General experience. (1) Except as provided in paragraph (e) of this section, no person may act as a pilot in command of an aircraft carrying passengers or of an aircraft certificated for more than one pilot flight crewmember unless that person has made at least three takeoffs and three landings within the preceding 90 days, and—
(i) The person acted as the sole manipulator of the flight controls;

You can come up with a thousand reasons why you feel responsible and decide to put a student's landings in your logbook, but there's no circumventing "sole manipulator" rule.

Personally, when I'm with a student, I only log the landings I demonstrate. If he flew the landing, it goes in his book, if I flew it, it goes in mine. That way, my logbook is a record of my experiences I've accomplished, not the things I've watched.