Grandforks Approach

atcbrownie

Hey everyone. I have been working grandforks approach for 6 years now. If you guys have any questions about approach, departure, arrival just ask I should be able to answer them.

AW

Did you like the antique equipment? We are supposed to be getting a new facility in the next year, but they have been saying that since I got here.

How long is a typical shift for a controller? Do you guys get breaks every so often? How many are staffed during a shift? Is this pretty standard for all facilities of this size? Thanks.

Everyone at gfk approach works 5 eight hour shifts with the exception of a few DOD civilian controllers who work 4 10 hour shifts. These shifts are typical of most air force facilities. We are a 24 hour facility. We generally work 2 hours of position and then get a break. We dont really have a standard length of breaks.

AW

Welcome to JC, good to have an approach controller here now.

What is Grand Forks arrival. How does this differ form approach control?

Welcome to JC, good to have an approach controller here now.

What is Grand Forks arrival. How does this differ form approach control?
grand forks airport only control. normal approach takes the satellites.

Hey everyone. I have been working grandforks approach for 6 years now. If you guys have any questions about approach, departure, arrival just ask I should be able to answer them.

AW
what is the best way to find out if the AFB is taking approaches or not? i have the phone number in my phone, but i have never called to find out

Grandforks arrival is a position that is used when we have more than 3 aircraft doing approaches to GFK. The position is normally combined with the approach position but is decombined to relieve some workload from the approach controller.

As far as the best way to find out if the base is taking approaches I would suggest one of two ways.