Your training

blakman7

Hello to all,

I am rather new to this thing but I wanted to know what all of you students and former students think about the program at DCA. How do you like your training and do you wish that you could have gone somewhere else? Do you feel that your training thusfar has been beneficial? I am looking to go to flight school this upcoming June or July and I was just doing my research with different schools.Thanks.

Dude. Your font is killing my eyes. Do yourself a favor and forget about that place. A while back I went on a tour there (before I knew about Jetcareers.com) and spoke with their head used car salesman. I asked how much it would be if I cam in with my private and instrument. He quoted me at 40k for my commercial single and multi comercial. I am pretty sure that didnt include any CFI ratings either. I kinda tuned him out after that and decided I should go someplace else.
My advice to you is this. Buy and IFR capable 152 and do your ppl, instrument, CFII and timebuilding towards your single commercial in that. Of course you will have to rent an RG from somewhere eventually though. When you have done all the training you can do in that plane, sell it. For instruction I would find an older more experienced freelance CFI. You would likely get more bang for your buck from someone like that than you would from a 400hr CFI who is just trying to rack up enough hours to move on to a regional. Thats not to say there arent good low time CFI's out there though.

If buying a plane is out of the question, I would recomend going to Ariben. You will get a ton of multi time there and their prices kick ass. What ever you decide, I would suggest staying away from the academies. Good luck

Toonces said: