Vaso Vagal Syncope (Fainting)

Parrish

I've read the other threads about Vaso Vagal syncope, and they are encouraging, but my situation is a little more dire.

6 months ago I was taking my CFII Instrument Instructor checkride when I passed out in flight.

Doctors said that in this case it was caused by dehydration, low blood sugar from not eating that day, nervousness, high altitude, sickness, lack of sleep, and stress.

I was grounded while I took a Cariological and Nuerological exam, a blood test, an ekg stress test, a holter monitor, a carotid ultrasound, a chest echo, and finally a tilt table. All without insurance (because I'm a flight instructor remember.)

Well, you can guess the result, everything came back healthy as a pilot, until I passed out on the tilt table without pharmacological provocation.

I also have a history of Vaso Vagal syncope, with 5 occurances during elementary and middle school, and one in college, but none in the last 5 years. (except the one in flight and one on the tilt table.) I had been honest about my history during my initial medical and got my 2nd class without a problem.

After submitting the test results to the FAA my medical certificate was revoked. Although they explained nothing, I've heard that I can re-apply in 3 years, or sooner if something changes.

I explained the situation to the doctors at leftseat.com, and they assured me they could get it back. As soon as they got my $700 they said "it's complecated", became unhelpful, and refused to work with my doctors. Suggesting only that I fly to Oklahoma to hire theirs.

I think I can recognize now when I have low blood sugar from symptoms like hunger and thirst, headache, light headedness, and weakness.

My doctor's recommendation is simple; drink sportsdrinks for water and salt, and don't fly hungry.

What can I do to convince the FAA that I don't want to fly with low blood sugar any more than any normal person wants to fly drunk?