Unique Medical/BAC question

Kaz

Hello everyone. I have a unique medical situation and am seeking flight doctor guidance. I'm asking the peanut gallery to keep the random thoughts, criticism, and banter to minimum. I'm looking for constructive feedback that's relevant to this situation please.

I'm a military pilot (Air Force Reserves) and a new-hire pilot with a Legacy airline. I successfully completed INDOC with my airline last February and had a month off before starting qualification training. While on break some friends and I went to Savannah Georgia for Saint Patricks day. While walking home to my hotel I was jumped randomly and assaulted. Following the attack I was hospitalized for 2 months due to sustaining a traumatic brain injury (Subdural Hematoma; Traumatic intracerebral hemorrhage with loss of consciousness of 30 minutes or less, Closed fracture of left side of occipital bone; Glasgow coma scale 12-13). I'm being told by many AME's that the FAA will require a 5 years wait before re-issuing my class-1 medical. My question with this is, is it at all possible to accelerate the 5-year timeline, or is "fixed" regardless of actual healing progress (at this point, 5 months later, I feel fully recovered & back to a cognitive state equal to or better than before the attack).