Starting over to try the aviation world

exneophyte

Background: When I was finishing up high school and trying to decide what was next, I debated between going into information technology or trying to become a career pilot. After doing some research and speaking with people in aviation, I decided to go to college because of what seemed like an unstable job market in commercial aviation. I graduated from college in 2007 with a business degree in Management of Information Systems. I worked with technology in high school and all throughout college and have now worked in the technology industry for a total of 8 years managing computers at schools and businesses.

Now to the point: For about two and a half years now, I haven’t enjoyed what I’ve been working on. I make decent money ($50-60k) have good benefits and get weekends and holidays off working for a software company, but still feel like something is missing. I fly a lot for work and am consistently amazed and intrigued by how all of the pieces fall together ultimately getting me to my final destination and home. I’m considering making a leap of faith and trying something in the aviation industry to see if that might be the direction I might want to go in. I’m even thinking I might try doing something like working as a line technician, but am open to suggestions. I’m pretty sure working as a line technician would be a significant pay cut, but I’m open to that for the opportunity to get some experience in a field that I’ve always had an itch for.

I live very close to MSP and only a short drive from STP and am going to start my PPL later this year or early next year after I get some finances in order. I’ve always wondered what it would be like to own and operate my own FBO, but I’m getting ahead of myself and think I should get my foot in the aviation door to see if it is amazing as I have imagined it. Sorry for writing a book, but I’ve put some thought into this. Here are my questions: