Reno 2021

knot4u

Repeat Offender
Reno Air Races 2021
We may lose an aviation institution, the Reno Air Races, because of this @$#!#&@# pandemic. I'm biased admittedly, I worked as a mechanic on the Rare Bear for almost a decade. If you have a trip to the races on your bucket list you might want to donate, otherwise it may cease to exist.
Reno Air Racing Association Faces Uncertain Future

Maybe RARA can hit up Trump for spare change

After all, he's all about Making America Great Again......

AND this qualifies

Reno hangs on by a thread every year. I have lots of opinions and issues on RARA and the air races in general. Their utter lack of willingness to pivot and modernize will ultimately be their failure.

Frankly, I’m surprised Reno continued after the crash. I thought for sure they would be uninsurable or cost prohibitive for insurance, after that accident.

Their insurance went up considerably.

Honestly, insurance in general has been a hard hit to the races. Several unlimited racers pulled their aircraft due to being cost-prohibitive to insure. My generous friend asked me to race his Pitts in the biplane class for 2021 which I would love to do, but with premiums rising and racers in all classes dwindling, I am not sure how much longer this even makes sense.

Frankly, I’m surprised Reno continued after the crash. I thought for sure they would be uninsurable or cost prohibitive for insurance, after that accident.
I'm surprised it was still a thing BEFORE the crash. Don't get me wrong, they are cool as hell, just so dang niche.

Insurance of all kinds has gotten brutal. Mine went up 25% this year for no reason. “Just because” is what the broker told me.”

The real reason is some very high profile losses last year in the “owner flown turbine” category, but we don’t talk about that.

Okay, perhaps a popular post. Or perhaps an unpopular post.