railroad to pilot-buying plane

splash333

I'm looking for some input on my situation, I'm 31 and furloughed from the railroad, I have a degree but it isn't worth much as far as getting a new job. I will most likely have to find a job while I train even if its lower paying. I am interested in pilot training and am considering buying a plane for training and time building. I'm pretty set on a 150/152 due to initial cost, and overall affordability. I found this on ebay and it seems well equipped and maintained although the price is a bit higher than I wanted. Any thoughts on if this would be a good deal www.ebay.com/itm/1976-Cessna-150-M-Aerobat-Airplane/333406803195

I think it’s overpriced. Just 300 hours from TBO with a very basic cockpit.

From your perspective it would be fine for a private and the tailwheel skills are invaluable, but it doesn’t have the equipment to do any sort of instrument training so you’d be back looking for a rental or another plane as soon as you hit that point.

I think it’s overpriced. Just 300 hours from TBO with a very basic cockpit.

From your perspective it would be fine for a private and the tailwheel skills are invaluable, but it doesn’t have the equipment to do any sort of instrument training so you’d be back looking for a rental or another plane as soon as you hit that point.
is there anyway to add equipment to get it instrument rated or what that might cost?

Have you flown in small airplanes? Have you made sure you can get a medical? Do you have mechanical aptitude and an aircraft mechanic buddy you can trade beer and flight time to in exchange for maintenance?