Questions for the ADX folks

PilotMedic405

I have a few questions. I am currently working on my Bachelor’s of science in Aeronautics degree through Embry-Riddle Worldwide. I am also a private pilot, about to finish my instrument and commercial pilots license. I have been tossing around the idea of working as a dispatcher while I finish out my degree and work on my flight hours to eventually become an airline pilot. I am a member of the Air Force Reserve (KC-135 maintainer) as well. I was seeing if I could get some information about what the QOL, schedule and pay is like for a dispatcher. I live in Atlanta with my wife, but we are open to moving. I feel like this would help me get a better understanding of the aerospace world, and make me a safer pilot. Thank you all in advance for anything advice, tips and suggestions you can offer me.

You can find pay information here. QOL and schedule will very depending on where you work, which will likely be a regional airline or 121 supplemental. For the most part you can expect to work 4 10's and depending on where you're at you'll either bid a line and work early morning or afternoons, or you will be a reserve. My employer has programs setup for current employees to work on becoming pilots for them, feel free to PM me if you'd like to know more about that.

The entry-level position is typically a Part 121 regional carrier. Expect $16-$17 per hour starting wage. A typical work schedule is 4 10-hour days, with shifts starting early morning (4AM-ish) or early afternoon (2PM). Some regional carriers have a graveyard shift, some do not. Work schedules are bid for in seniority order, so expect to work a lot of weekends and holidays when first starting out. Overtime shifts (typically at time and a half pay) are offered in seniority order. If there aren't volunteers, they are assigned in reverse seniority, and are mandatory.