Need some career advice from the real world.

CJewett

New here, first post. Hows it going?

I'm a USAF C-130 pilot in Japan and will be getting out of the mil within the next year. I came to flying later than my peers and only managed to rack up about 1550 hours (mostly C-130 time or T1/T37). I will be able to do the MEA for my Commercial/Instrument, then I will go get my ATP when I move back to the states. Maybe even a type rating of some sort.

So, my question is, where do I fit in to the hiring strata of todays airlines? From what I can find it looks like I meet a lot of the mins for larger airlines but would not be competitive. Should I start at a regional? How competitive would I be at a cargo company (FedEx, UPS, Polar etc).

Is there a resource that I haven't found yet that will answer these questions?

Thanks

If you meet the mins for any of the majors, there's no harm in applying. I'd also look into corporate jobs as well. With military flying in the C-130, you've got a big leg up since you have turbine time. IMO, you should be able to forego the regionals and get on with either a major (CAL may be hiring soon), a corporate or fractional carrier or one of the cargo carriers. If you have over 1000 turbine PIC, you could also try Southwest.

It doesn't look like you have the hours to get on at a major. Maybe get on at a regional and move into a reserve or guard unit to make some extra cash until you can get on at a major. I'm currently a first year FO at a regional and an E-5 in the AF Reserves. I make an extra $800/mo by working about 6 days a month out at the base. It makes a HUGE difference. Being an Officer, you'd easily make twice what I make working the same number of days.
If I were in your shoes, I'd apply to all the airlines you can, also apply for guard/reserve spots. Take the airline job first, then take military leave to train for the guard slot.