Monocular vision

David Dickey

Greeting. I am a student pilot with one eye (lost vision 20 years ago do to an injury) I have around 35 hrs of flight Time and I am beginning to think about my check ride. I have submitted a written request to regional office for a medical check ride and am currently awaiting there reply. My question is... At what point do I take this check ride and what will it entail.

Thanks
David

I knew a US Air captain with one eye. He is the one who got me into this mess 35 years ago by taking me for a ride in a cessna.

I had no idea you could get a waiver for this!! That's really encouraging for a lot of people!!!

Patrick, you should know a little about this...how we forget things. ;-)
David, no worries. It's not an issue or a big deal to get a waiver for this. As was mentioned there ARE people flying 121 with monocular vision.

How much harder does monocular vision actually make it harder to fly? Would someone with monocular vision have trouble passing the checkride? Just curious.

Not hard at all. The issue is depth perception. After one is monocular for 6 months, they learn to adapt and can usually have good depth perception.

I was born without depth perception. My initial medical app for a first class was deferred because I could not past the stereoscopic vision test. That being said, it took 6 months and calling the FAA every week to find in the mail my first class medical with no limitations or waivers. I have had zero problems renewing my first class medical. Just gotta write down "previously reported, no change." A lack of depth perception is not a big deal. Search around google about depth perception and aviation and you will find it very interesting. Mainly, you will be just find be wise we use monocular clues a lot more than binocular clues when flying.