Marathon training (mostly on a treadmill)?

Jcd40B

Thinking about training for a marathon again, except now I'm a regional airline pilot and life is a little different. Anyone do it? Reason for the title: I have a hard time popping into a new city, having a short amount of time to exercise, and finding an outdoor route to run that's of appropriate length, especially if we get put in a strip mall/commercial area or even a downtown area can be hard (I run in rural areas at home). So, I'm thinking a lot of my training will have to be on the treadmill.

Do you use Strava? I would use that to scope out good running routes in new cities. It worked pretty well being on reserve and never knowing where I was overnighting. This is how I did the majority of my first 1/2 Ironman run training. Treadmills work well with limited time or poor weather, but sometimes the equipment isn't maintained and can throw a wrench in your workout plan.

Do you use Strava? I would use that to scope out good running routes in new cities. It worked pretty well being on reserve and never knowing where I was overnighting. This is how I did the majority of my first 1/2 Ironman run training. Treadmills work well with limited time or poor weather, but sometimes the equipment isn't maintained and can throw a wrench in your workout plan.
I'll check it out. Thanks

I’ve done seven marathons. I hate treadmills. Five miles is about my limit on a treadmill. One of my favorite things about running is all of the different routes and favorite places I’ve discovered on the road. I’m going to make up a 16 mile run in SFO tomorrow.

On my last, last deployment, our doc did an entire marathon training plan, and then full marathon on a treadmill.

I think the longest I did (on a treadmill) was 10miles, and gne was right, it gets very boring.
I use map my run a lot. Good enough app for the runs I do during overnights, but I find myself running 2-3 miles on the gyms treadmill more than I run outside.