Lift tragedy

“Tragedy is when I cut my finger. Comedy is when you fall into an open sewer and die.”

126491.jpg

Mel is a winner of an EGOT....pretty decent accomplishment.

Hah! I majored in being a hobbyist, essentially. Easiest way to explain:

The ultimate education for the discerning gentleperson who wishes to have a nodding acquaintance with everything, but mastery (or even let's say a meaningful, modern level of knowledge) of nothing. We're just hell at a cocktail party, though!

Love the St. John's kids. Bring a book to an Annapolis bar. Look like a troubled and misunderstood Jack Kerouac. Pace yourself while drinking. Wait for midshipmen to leave to make curfew. Chase women. Long game.

Don't think we weren't pacing you, Middie. We knew that you knew that we knew you that you knew that you had to be awake at 6am to diagram a nuclear reactor. We just had to stagger in to class to pretend to know wtf Euclid was talking about. Advantage: Johnnie. I also stole one of your hats, as is dictated by our eternal enmity.
I wasn't Academy material but was an observant student of Annapolis nightlife.

Interesting discussion in the comments about the DA-40 and full spin handling characteristics. Also sounds like a student freezing up on the controls isn't outside the realm of possibility.

Not going to speculate more than what's already on the comment section on that thread, but I will point out this piece of information. In about 2006 or 2007, diamond were trying to get the DA40 certified with winglets as part of an upgrade package over the straight DA40. It wouldn't pass the spin certification tests, and it ended up being a giant freaking headache for us (I worked for a diamond dealer at the time). Lots of angry customers and lawsuits.