Licence Pay - what is it & should it influence where I apply?

jjak01

Hey All,

I am currently studying for my ADX Written and hoping to attend school later this year. While I know I am 9-12 months out from finding a job, I keep seeing Licence Pay mentioned on the pay spreadsheet and in other discussions. What is Licence Pay and should I let it influence where I apply?

Thanks

Short answer: no.
Longer answer: it’s an extremely nice perk to have, but there are so many other things to consider about which major you want to work for (like location, cost of living, work schedules etc) that this should be at the bottom of your list.
Thank you, that makes sense

If you Re new, and/or do not have the dispatch license, stop looking at the pay or the perks..

Get the license, then go to the place you think is the best (2cents Skywest or Envoy) then bust your ass there and stop worrying about the check, it’s about experience.. yes you will have to cut back and that, but once you have gained the experience, many doors will have opened.. if you are willing the embrace the suck for 1-2-3 years leaving current job/gig for school then to a regional to a mid Teir/legacy then it’s worth it

@jjak01 It's a nice perk to have and it increases your pay. As Regional said, get your foot in the door and gain the experience. Move up when the time comes. If the airline you get into does not have LUP you can always work an OT shift (if you get it) to make up for it. Best of luck on the exam and later on getting a position.