Kansas City Airshow

mocm

Some pics from Sunday Afternoon of the KC Airshow. I'm new to photography and this was really my first aviation shoot. Please feel free to fire any tips or suggestions my way!

I got to meet Sean Tucker (flies the Oracle plane) just minutes before he had to jump in the plane. It was pretty neat watching him run through his performance in his head. Looked like he was doing some kind of ballet on the flight line.

K7rgbwc.jpg

qyxQkwO.jpg

7WMcC8U.jpg

7r4xWKh.jpg

srUAmqT.jpg

xMo83dy.jpg

u6TYrbn.jpg

ZhIwoy6.jpg

eYgKG2t.jpg

YqYlhTi.jpg

Some pics from Sunday Afternoon of the KC Airshow. I'm new to photography and this was really my first aviation shoot. Please feel free to fire any tips or suggestions my way!

I got to meet Sean Tucker (flies the Oracle plane) just minutes before he had to jump in the plane. It was pretty neat watching him run through his performance in his head. Looked like he was doing some kind of ballet on the flight line.

K7rgbwc.jpg

qyxQkwO.jpg

7WMcC8U.jpg

7r4xWKh.jpg

srUAmqT.jpg

xMo83dy.jpg

u6TYrbn.jpg

ZhIwoy6.jpg

eYgKG2t.jpg

YqYlhTi.jpg
Those look real nice. One thing I never realized when I started shooting prop driven aircraft was propeller blur. Slow down the shutter a bit to get the prop to blur so it looks like a disc rather than individual blades. It's supposed to convey motion. Usually there's a camera forum for what you're shooting with and they'll have a dedicated section just for aviation. Some really good tips there. And for info, I'm just an amateur hack just starting out as well.

Those look real nice. One thing I never realized when I started shooting prop driven aircraft was propeller blur. Slow down the shutter a bit to get the prop to blur so it looks like a disc rather than individual blades. It's supposed to convey motion.

One of the "pros" on here says you should be getting prop blur with aperture and ISO settings. @mikecweb