It's never too late?

Low&Slow

Ancora imparo
BeaverwithGeorgeEliotquote_zpse3142073.jpg

This quote was made about 120+ years ago. Is it still accurate, specifically when referring to working as a professional pilot? Flying for a living is all I've ever wanted to do since I was about three years old.
I'm 45 now, and will be taking about a one year all expenses paid "vacation" to a location nobody wants to go to very soon. I will be turning 47 shortly after my return if I haven't already turned by then. I currently have CSEL/CMEL, Instrument Rating, just under 500 hrs, an Associate in Science degree (Engineering), an EMT license, and I am an airframe mechanic (not licensed by the FAA).
I am currently unemployed and am thinking about getting my CFI/CFII when I get back to the USA and trying to finally get a career as a professional pilot started. I currently have a really good job offer to work in NC as an airframe mechanic but unfortunately, due to some unforeseen recent events in my personal life, it looks very improbable that I will be able to take that job.
I have a family, but I don't need to be a Legacy Captain or make six figures to be happy. To be honest, I really don't know exactly what I want to do as a pilot, I just like to fly. Living comfortably while working/flying someplace beautiful would be the dream. Especially if I could fly a warbird like the DC-3, -4, or -6, C-46. I think I'd also like to fly a Beaver, Goose, or anything along those lines.