International Students

Shiftace

s***posting with decency. trolling with integrity.
Hello folks:

This is a great forum! Been very helpful. I am a software engineer currently residing and working in MIchigan. I am thinking about career change and flying helicopters. I am originally from India and plan to go back once I finish the course. I think the Indian government needs to see 150 hours for a Commercial license I.

I was wondering if there are any schools that admit international students in the US for training chopper pilots? Also what is the approximate cost for 150 hrs of training!?

Cheers
Sunny

Hello folks:

This is a great forum! Been very helpful. I am a software engineer currently residing and working in MIchigan. I am thinking about career change and flying helicopters. I am originally from India and plan to go back once I finish the course. I think the Indian government needs to see 150 hours for a Commercial license I.

I was wondering if there are any schools that admit international students in the US for training chopper pilots? Also what is the approximate cost for 150 hrs of training!?

Cheers
Sunny

Hi,

If you're not a permanent resident or Citizen of the US, you will need a student visa sponsored by the flight school, either by going back to India and re-applying through the embassy there, or by transferring your student visa status to the flight school (M1 can be transferred quite easily). If you're on J-1 visa, I believe it is no longer eligible for flight training at all (at least the program ceased a while after I was doing this). So you'll need to go on a M1 visa, which restricts how much, and what type of, work you can do etc.