Instrument Training

Hello Everyone!
I am going to be starting my instrument training very soon and I was wondering if anyone has any good tips for it or if anyone has a list of good equipment to use when flying IFR? I am very new to IFR so i am unaware.
Thanks

Skyvector.com is your friend for a computer based check to the standard pencil and ruler.

Study Study Study. There is a lot to know, and you learn all of it on the ground. The equipment is all already in the airplane.

The FAA publications are all excellent. Make them nightly bedtime reading and you will be fine.

2 Tips.

#1. Instrument training is 10-20% about flying the airplane and 80-90% about procedures and rules. A good CFII will focus on ensuring you have sustainable scan and good understanding of how to change configurations (the flying part) before going in detail into the procedures so you can focus on them.

#2. There is an unfortunate tendency to make (and teach) some procedures far, far, far more complicated than they actually are. This is especially true for holds and DME arcs. If you have trouble with them, don't hesitate getting in a ground session with a CFII who can explain them in a way which will make sense to you.

2 Tips.

#1. Instrument training is 10-20% about flying the airplane and 80-90% about procedures and rules. A good CFII will focus on ensuring you have sustainable scan and good understanding of how to change configurations (the flying part) before going in detail into the procedures so you can focus on them.

#2. There is an unfortunate tendency to make (and teach) some procedures far, far, far more complicated than they actually are. This is especially true for holds and DME arcs. If you have trouble with them, don't hesitate getting in a ground session with a CFII who can explain them in a way which will make sense to you.