Instrument approach question

ScottG

I am an instrument rated pilot but it has been greater than 4 years since I went up in an aircraft that I was flying. I am getting back into it as my navy time dwindles and I have questions about instrument flight. I have looked quite a few places including some of the standard publications for these but the struggle to regain lost knowledge continues. This question in particular (and hopefully it is in the right forum) has me confused. The approach into Burns, Oregon on the VOR RWY 30 has an IAF on the airport and an outbound leg with a PT. There is no place indicating NO PT so what if you approach the fix from say the 072 or 123 radial? Are you expected to make the large turn to 124 and do the PT that way or is it more likely you receive radar vectors to intercept the approach course? There was a similar discussion years ago here but I still have this question.

Link to plate:
http://skyvector.com/files/tpp/1506/pdf/06331V30.PDF

I would personally probably enter it like one would a hold, especially with the VOR holding pattern over to the right. In the case of arriving on the 072 or 123 I would probably pass the VOR (at or above 7900) then do a right hand teardrop.

I'm sure someone else has the technical definitions on what must be done and whatever, I'm just saying from a practical standpoint.

Unrelated side note: FAA charts are yuck. I <3 my Jepp charts

The only IAF is the VOR, so the only way to start this approach is via the VOR. Even if you're on the 124 radial. You must to the PT, or get center to give you vectors or request "straight in" if you're on the inbound radial.

I like the teardrop, just wish it did't feel like improvising. And the hold if I am not mistaken is for the missed, can you use it for approach entry? Maybe I am way off though, I just don't have a feel for the rules anymore.