How To Use Flight Following In This Case..

flyguy969

I fly out of Northeast Philadelphia, here is my question: As a student I was told to always told to get Flight Following (and I always did) now when I would contact Philly Approach to request FF I always had a destination where I was going since I was a student. So I was able to tell Approach I am off from KPNE direct to KLNS (Lancaster) for example. Now, that I recently received my PPL say I was to simply so for a flight to take pictures over someone’s house. Well, what should I tell FF? What would be the proper way to request Flight Following since I would be taking off of KPNE flying 20 to 30 NM away then flying back? How should I word it to them? Thanx for everyone’s help
:confused:

You never NEED FF. You may need approach if your in thier airspace but if it's uncontrolled airspace you don't need to talk to anyone.

Just ask for flight following for a local flight. As you head away from the airport, if you get out of their airspace, they'll hand you off to whoever's working the area you're heading into.

Pick a navaid, fix, or a intersection near the intended spot you wish to photograph and request following out to that and back. For example, say you want to fly to the Montauk lighthouse on Long Island for photos. When you check on with App. tell them you are requesting flight following to CCC (calverton) which is a VOR on the east end of LI, that will get you within a few miles of your intended location (Montauk). If they request what you are doing once there state that you will practice some maneuvers and return to KPNE. The military files IFR like this all the time.

Our computer system knows where all fixes etc. are located, as long as you give me something near where you want to go I can provide the services you require.

Hope that helps...

Approach, AirCraftxxxxx, level 3000 vfr to the south, request flight following.