How long does it take to get all the prerequisites to a professional pilot career?

inspiringpilot96

Hey guys. My question may be hard to predict because it depends on how things go in the future, things changing in the aviation industry, the job market, pilot shortages, etc. I'm looking into flying in the airlines or any other pilot careers,. I'm 21 and going to college soon and beginning to work on very important things like getting a full time job, getting my own apartment and my own car. I feel like I have started these things a little late.

Looking down the road, I won't be able to actually start flight training in the near future because I will be handling college and bills. Likely, I'll be starting after I have my degree in which I think will be in maybe 5 or 6 years. That will put me at age 25 or 26. If I become an engineer, it will still take some time to get those licenses and ratings. I read that it takes 15 years to qualify for a flying job. Is this correct? That would put me at age 41 where majors won't look at me because of my age and little experience.

I can qualify for the active duty and reserve GI bill but I'm not sure if I should use that towards my degree(mechanical engineering). I'm in a dilemma on that because I love both aviation and engineering and want to work out having all the prerequisites along with having my degree. I've looked at loans but I don't want to end up getting in debt. I've looked at those academies and schools where they fast track you to an airline career but they are too expensive. I've looked at the military but as a current enlistee in the Air Guard, I'm not interested in being in the military any longer. Do I have any other options? Are there certain grants and scholarships I can pursue for flight training? If I do go to one of those fast tracking academies using loans and end up with a career, will I be able to pay it back?

Last edited: