Hi everyone!

voltage1256

So I'm still yet to have a definite answer on my color vision issue as far being an airline pilot and Im becoming a freshman this fall at ERAU for college. I've come up with an interest in Air Traffic Safety and Accident Investigation. Im thinking... I should switch my major to Air Traffic Safety and Minor in "Airline Pilot Specialty." This way I have a career choice Im gaining interest in and also while I work on my color vision issue, if it works out it works out and I can fly after all and if it doesnt... I havent wasted a year at college, and Im still focusing on one of my career choices. Just wanted some opinions... hopefully I posted in the right spot...

Best Regards, Jay

They have a major called "airline pilot specialty"? I majored in political science and the airline could've cared less if I did it in sewing. More power to you for going to college, you can never go wrong with getting your education. But I have to ask(because I don't know) does the FAA have a stipulation that you can't be colorblind to work as an crash investigator? I think you might want to look into that because you may be wasting your time if you can't be either a pilot or a crash scene investigator with those majors.

Just my thought is to major in something complete outside of aviation? It might work out better if you can get a job completely unrelated to flying if the industry hits a low(like it always does). Good luck either way.

Howdy!

If you're in AZ, make the trip down to PHX and see Dr. Forred about your color vision.

I have what I call B.S. color vision deficency... I can see just about every color on the spectrum, unless its a color vision test... and the airport that holds my FSDO hasnt updated their light gun in 30 some odd years so the green has faded white... its astonishing how such a safety regulated industry forgets a few things....