Help My first class was deferred

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joshua Layman

Dear Dr Forred,

I am currently a private pilot with a third class medical certificate. I signed up to begin my further flight training with ATP Flight School in February. I need a first class medical to attend the school. Back in May of 2013 I was arrested for DUI Marijuana and possession of a very small amount of marijuana. One month later I was arrested again for a small amount of marijuana. I was dumb and just starting to fly and didn't realize at the time I wanted to be a pilot. I made some mistakes. I went to court for both cases and was placed on one year probation for the possession charges and I was convicted of DWI. I served my license suspension and attended the DRUG and Alcohol classes required by the state. I am finishing my probation in March and have been drug and alcohol free since my last arrest. I applied for my first class medical and sent all of the court records, documentation, a letter explaining my past actions to the FAA. I was deferred and received a letter in the mail today they were denying my application. They said I can apply for reconsideration but I have to see a psychiatrist and a clinical neuro-phsyiologist and complete the core battery tests. I want to be a pilot so badly it's my dream and passion. I am not the person I was a year ago. Can you give me some guidance and do you think i have ruined any chance of ever getting my first class medical or becoming a commercial airline pilot. I live in Pennsylvania. Any advice or guidance you can give me would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
JL