Flying as a job, no longer a hobby

dave64056

Hello,

For those of you who originally saw flying as a hobby, and turned it into a career, did it ever get "boring" or become a drag? I have no intentions of turning my hobby into a career, since I am an ATCS CTI student and Air Transportation Management student (double major) and will start working on my Private Pilot License out of college. It's also interesting to see the reality of career flying, since I for the longest time used to think everyone made 100k right from the start, only to realize my undergrad friends will only make around 30k and have massive loans. I also didn't want to be tied to a schedule either, and want to progress at my own pace with obtaining my certifications.

It's still a job because they have to pay you to do it. That doesn't mean it's not enjoyable but keep in mind that flying when you can do what you want and flying when you're doing what somebody else wants you to do is an entirely different thing. I can tell you there were days when I was flight instructing students with bad halitosis, tired as hell and absolutely did not want to go do stalls in the same ol practice area for the 30th time that week.

I've been flying full time (as in, for a paycheck) since 2007. Done everything from instructing, charter, corporate, and the regionals. There are times it gets old, but overall I still really enjoy it. Those that say it gets easy and boring just aren't pursuing new challenges and learning opportunities. They'd probably be grumpy regardless of what they do for a living.

I think just being treated better would go a long way towards making it a better job. And I see all of you saying "Look at the UPS Capt complaining". I got one of the best gigs in the biz, and yet, am looking forward to not having to do it anymore. The drudgery of being a widget that is seen as an unfortunate necessity by the big corporation to move the jet from A to B is what gets to you after a while.