Do you kick the jumpseater off the plane

Bandit_Driver

Gold Member
Just wondering what other companies have as policies or if there is one in the following scenario.

You are the last flight to XYZ and the cockpit jumpseat is MEL'd. You board and push with the jumpseater in the cabin. You block out and have to return to the gate to have a passenger removed. The gate now tells you they want to board some pax that didn't make it the first time.

Do you put the Jumpseater off and fill all the seats? Does the PIC have any authority to keep the JS pilot on the plane?

Do you put the Jumpseater off and fill all the seats? Does the PIC have any authority to keep the JS pilot on the plane?
I'm not an airline pilot, but as a gate agent I can say at my airline, the PIC has the final call.

I have actually seen something like this before. E120 is about to push, UA FO comes running up asking for a jump, I tell him the flight is closed and went out weight restricted. He looks out the window and insists he knows the captain and begs to go down, of course I let him. The captain then delays the flight by over 10 minutes playing with the numbers than finally says he can take 1 more, the UA FO. The supervisor gets on the radio and insists the FO get back upstairs and one of the paying pax who volunteered to give up their seat gets on. The captain refuses, and in my book that was fine, the volunteers get their free ticket, the FO gets his jump, everyones happy. But then, guess what, flights delayed, so a mis connect shows up demanding to get on the plane. Next flight is not for 5 hours, this person does NOT want the free ticket, they want to go. Captain refuses, shuts the door, takes off with the FO.

If that was wrong or right on moral grounds, you decide for yourself, however, from an operational stand-point, I as the gate agent could not over-ride the captain and send the pax down. Personally, I think he should have took the poor passenger, but the FO must have been an old buddy.