Dispatch Career/Schooling for someone with no experience.

Thruve

TLDR; read bottom.

I’ve currently enrolled in a dispatch school down here near FTL with NO aviation related experience once so ever. I do, however, seem to have a passion for it as I find studying for the ADX exam to be very fascinating. After I studied weather theory for example, I find myself looking up at the clouds all time, finding storms and popping open weather charts on my phone to confirm my theories. I also find the job description to be interesting and have done independent research (YouTube god) to understand concepts, learn more about the industry, and to get a feel for what exactly is fully expected of me. I am due to begin in January leaving me about a month more of study time to prepare for the ADX. I have been using an APP (provided by the school) as a frame of reference for what I need to be studying for the ADX other than to memorize questions/answers from the app and so far nothing has proven to be challenging although the amount of material is a bit overwhelming.

I do intend on extending my class date back to a month or two to continue studying for my ADX and to begin studying material I find online that I assume my school will be teaching me, such as Alt Minimums, etc. In this way I’m hoping I’ll have an easier time learning the material in class without being flustered or feeling ‘set back’ due to the potential ‘snowballing’ effect of needing to fully grasp or understand something before fully understanding another. That’s what I fear.
I am not funded. I will be putting the tuition on my credit card. If I fail or ultimately decide the class is far to difficult, or don’t get a sign off from my instructor, I’ll be broke and in debt. I am, however, willing to take the risk because this does seem like something I’d have a passion for and be good at! I get giddy looking at charts lol.