Delta wants to be the launch customer for the 797!

Probably not, because it's the same wing. What they should have done is redesign the wing, to give it the range of the 757. And now loaded it down with additional auxiliary fuel tanks.

But what do I know, I'm just a former A.Netter. And as @mikecweb would say. Airbus's stock hasn't tanked yet despite what the online CEO's are saying they should do.[/

They did change the wing slightly. Im no engineer or expert but the wing wouldn't need to be completely redesigned to increase the range.

No engineer here either, but the airfoil is a pretty big determiner in terms of range. When the 737 NG was transformed from the Classic, the wing was redesigned to its current iteration. For amongst other things, to eek out more range and performance than the wing on the Classic.

I was just going to say I hope Boeing throws everyone for a loop and names this one the 818.
397B8A88-E0DC-4491-8561-3F802F438541.jpeg

Business is business, its not personal. Any good business person is going to know that and take the emotion out of the situation. Boeing's attack on Bombardier was just business. Nothing personal against Delta they just got stuck as collateral damage as part of the politics.

Likewise Delta isn't going to cut off its nose to spite its own face, just to stick it to Boeing. More especially if Boeing is offering a product that fits their needs and has no competing alternative. Also, lastly United has been in on the 797 bandwagon since like day one. They're already all aboard. Because they too have a bunch of 757/767's that are aging and needs replacement. And because contrary to Chris Brown's pronouncements, they're loyal.