CFI Initial - What to Expect

Murdoughnut

Well sized member
Starting my CFI Initial on Monday. Found a flight school at a rural airport not too far away, and a gold seal instructor who agreed to take me on as a student. Haven't flown with the guy before, and I asked him if I needed to review anything before our first lesson, and he said no. I've completed ground school and the written. Likely won't need FOI because I'm a community college instructor.

What should I expect from the CFI flight lessons? Is it just focused on commercial maneuvers from the right seat, or will I dive into scenario based exercises where I act out the role of CFI?

Thanks!

What should I expect from the CFI flight lessons? Is it just focused on commercial maneuvers from the right seat, or will I dive into scenario based exercises where I act out the role of CFI?

Thanks!

Yep, both. Scenarios are teaching some maneuvers, like a power off 180 or short field takeoff, etc. Everything in all the ACS's are fair game. Student doing something wrong and correcting him, know when to take control of the airplane, etc. Most of the prep has been for the oral in my experience of a few CFI rides.

Starting my CFI Initial on Monday. Found a flight school at a rural airport not too far away, and a gold seal instructor who agreed to take me on as a student. Haven't flown with the guy before, and I asked him if I needed to review anything before our first lesson, and he said no. I've completed ground school and the written. Likely won't need FOI because I'm a community college instructor.

Thanks!