Career Advice. Should I Stay Or Should I Go!

kawaii_boner

Hello There Fellow Dispatchers!

I’m at a crossroads and I could really use some advice from some people in the industry. I am a college graduate, I have a PPL with an instrument rating and 350+ hours and I just started a course at Sheffield for dispatching.

Currently I work at Delta TechOps as a Supply Attendant and while it’s nice to already be working for a Major Airline, I don’t think working here will give me much of an advantage to move into a dispatch position, unless I have dispatching experience (which I don’t currently)

I don’t want to leave the benefits of working at delta, but I don’t want to work in TechOps forever either!

Would it be better for me to:

A. Stay where I am and wait for a dispatcher position at delta to open up

Or

B. Find a dispatcher position with a regional and try to move to a major after I get some experience.

I’m all ears and I’d love to hear as many opinions that you can throw at me. Thank you!

I would say, unless you absolutely have your heart set on dispatching for Delta, it would be best to leave and get some practical dispatching experience, then move up to a major.

In the last two classes Delta has put through there have been four or five internal hires who already had their dispatch certificate and no dispatch experience. I know there are other dispatchers from years earlier who were hired with no prior dispatch experience. While getting dispatch experience with a regional wouldn’t hurt your chances, you’d be giving up some good benefits and company seniority. It might be while before the next opening, I doubt it if they post another opening again this year, but I’d suspect a steady flow coming in to the OCC in the coming years.