Calling Engineers on your opinion of degrees...

ProudPilot

Aeronautics Geek
So...

I spent a LOT of money on my BS in Aeronautics from UND Aerospace. I graduated with a 2.8 (lots of reasons, but I had a year and a half where working and illness really got the best of me). While I love flying, the QOL for myself and my family would be on the bottom end due to my debt vs pay.

So I'm looking into changing careers. My grandfather and 2 cousins are all Electrical Engineers. I'm not sure I want to follow their footsteps. I would ideally work in magnetic devices or propulsion systems. In general, I still have fun just building things.

I was told before that Mechanical Engineering gets you a job anywhere as an Engineer. However, I wanted to put it out to you if you think a different major would be better. I believe I need to get another BS before I can get a MS or MEng.

Also, I know I don't qualify for the SMART program due to my gpa, but does anyone know of another sponsorship? I know there's a demand for uas pilot/engineers right now, but I'll miss that boat and I doubt the size of some of these companies would be willing to sponsor.

Thank You in advance!

I don't know that I have much advice for you, but your post made me think of me. I graduated with a BS in Aeronautical Science a year and a half ago. I was using working as an A&P and CFI until that company went out of business a month or two ago. When one of my clients heard that I was loosing my job he asked me for my resume. Two weeks ago now I started work for him as a product engineer working on fuel systems. I got an engineering job with an engineering degree or any experience working as one, proving once again that its not what you know, but who you know.

Yep,

I know the who you know is crucial right now. However, most of the people I know are with a company that's laying off, or are at the retirement age and either looking for work themselves, or getting out of the business.