AUTO THROTTLES

jetman

Can someone axplain in simple
smile.gif
terms how do autothrottles work?
Tnx much
confused.gif

Well....I'm no expert yet....but I have to do 757 training soon.

Basically, you can select what you want the throttles to do for various modes of flight.

On takeoff, you push the EPR button and the throttles go to the selected takeoff EPR setting, then climb thrust at 400 AGL.

For climb or descent, you can select Flight Level Change, and the throttle will give you climb thrust or idle for descent.

If you want to hold a certain speed, you can select speed mode and the throttles will automatically give you the thrust to hold that speed.

I didn't read the chapter on VNAV yet...but supposedly the plane just fly's itself around the way you programed the FMC.

[ QUOTE ]
Can someone axplain in simple terms how do autothrottles work?

[/ QUOTE ]

Simply put, auto-throttles are to an airplane what cruise control is for a car!
smile.gif

The Auto-throttle system will manipulate the throttles to maintain a programmed FMC speed and/or thrust setting or will maintain whatever speed the pilot manually dials into the mode control panel (dashboard panel).

There's a lot more to understanding the auto-throttle system than that but that's it in a nut shell.

[ QUOTE ]
On takeoff, you push the EPR button and the throttles go to the selected takeoff EPR setting, then climb thrust at 400 AGL.

[/ QUOTE ]

Actually, climb thrust at 1000' when you call "Vnav, flaps 5". The auto-throttles automatically go to climb thrust when Vnav is selected. Some airlines have to select "climb" on the TMCP after selecting Vnav but ours are wired together to happen simultaneously.

You'll soon know all the secrets of the "Atari Ferrari".. young Jedi.
grin.gif
Enjoy it, Don! It was the best airplane I ever flew and it'll water your eyes with how smooth the automation is and how well it takes care of you on those long nights.