Atc questions

wzgrza

Hey guys. I am a pilot with a U.S Regional and have some ATC questions.

There is a chance that in the future I may be looking to do ATC in a foreign country and had some questions.

How long does schooling to become a controller usually take? How long would it take for me already being a pilot, knowing the lingo, the navigation, etc. etc. Would that be an advantage? Big, small?

On a 0-100% scale, as a pilot, roughly how much of the required knowledge to do ATC do I already have? (in case you havent noticed I am hoping that what I know about flying will be a big advantage as opposed to starting from scratch like some guys do, hehe) how much new stuff from that scale would I have to learn?

What do they look for when hiring someone as a ATC?

Are there any controllers from Europe on this board, or people who know about European ATC? Pay? Application/selection process?

I am pretty clueless about all this, and any info would be good. If anyone has any links or article, or feels like telling me about a typical day of an ATC guy that would be much appreciated as well. Thanks a lot!

Thanks a lot guys for any replies/help. Much appreciate it. :)

Prino

There is a chance that in the future I may be looking to do ATC in a foreign country and had some questions.

How long does schooling to become a controller usually take? How long would it take for me already being a pilot, knowing the lingo, the navigation, etc. etc. Would that be an advantage? Big, small?

On a 0-100% scale, as a pilot, roughly how much of the required knowledge to do ATC do I already have? (in case you havent noticed I am hoping that what I know about flying will be a big advantage as opposed to starting from scratch like some guys do, hehe) how much new stuff from that scale would I have to learn?

What do they look for when hiring someone as a ATC?

Are there any controllers from Europe on this board, or people who know about European ATC? Pay? Application/selection process?