Army WOCS

Weston

First off, I'd just like to say hello! I stumbled on this site the other day, and after lurking for awhile I've finally decided to reg up and ask some questions :D

Alright, I'll cut right to it. I'm 19 years old, and I'm a sophomore at the University of Iowa. I have roughly 26 credits, with a 2.09 GPA (Pathetic, I'm aware. More on that later.). For as long as I can remember, I've wanted nothing more with my life than to be an Army helicopter pilot. However, I'd always thought of it as a 'phase' I was going through, and that I would find some major in school or some profession out there that I would fall in love with. Well, here we are, 19 years later, and my desire to fly is greater than ever, as well as my loathing of school. I've finally decided to act on it, and read everything I could find on the internet in respect to which route to go that would be the quickest/most efficient way to achieve my goal. I went down to the local recruiters office to discuss my options with an actual person. However, I'm still at a loss as to which route would be the most beneficial to me. As far as I understand it, I could start putting a packet together and start jumping through the hoops of the Highschool to Flightschool program, which, ideally, is what I would prefer to do. The other option I've been told would be to enlist, and choose an MOS working directly with the birds and their respective crews, then apply to WOCS a short time later. Obviously which route to pick depends on the individual, which is precisely why I'm here. This would be my prospective 'Highschool to Flightschool' resume: