Any part 61 pilots here?

ahunt

I hold a FAA Commercial w/ Instrument and I'm looking to get my dispatch license. All of my flying has been done under part 91 and I have zero experience with part 121 or 135 operations. I called up IFOD and was told that I would qualify for their 2-week accelerated program as long as I have the written done before I come in.

From what I understand, IFOD spends the first 2 weeks teaching ground school, 3rd week to prepare for the written, and the last 2 weeks on flight planning and preparing for the practical test.

My main concern with doing the 2-week is that I would miss out on some important ground knowledge like part 121 regs and 737 systems, but I don't really want to sit through some of the other lectures listening to them explan how to read METARs and approach plates because I already know how to.

For someone like me who already has some aviation experience, would it be better to just get the Gleim or ASA book and study on my own?

Anyone been in a similar position as me before? And did you do the full 5-week or 2-week program?

Ok this post is getting long... but I'll add 3 things:
  • I'm current and proficient with part 9 stuff at the moment, I'm confident I can go pass my commercial checkride right now if I had to retake it.
  • Cost is somewhat of a factor. The difference between the 2 program is $1,500, and I would have to spend an additional $1K on accomodation if I do the 5-week.
  • I'll be using Sheppard Air so passing the written is not a problem.

Last edited:
I hold a FAA Commercial w/ Instrument and I'm looking to get my dispatch license. All of my flying has been done under part 91 and I have zero experience with part 121 or 135 operations. I called up IFOD and was told that I would qualify for their 2-week accelerated program as long as I have the written done before I come in.