American Eagle Crew Scheduler

lostindfw

Hey all, I am a dispatcher by trade. I recently got a offer with American Eagle to be a crew scheduler, and I am excited. I was wondering if anyone here has had any experience doing this for Eagle, and if they have any insight into the job. How is the training, what are the flight benefits like. Do AE crew schedulers have jumpseat privildges? I realize the drama that goes with crew scheduling, so please no negative comments. Your replies are welcome.

DONT do it!! Eagle crew schedulers are the DEVIL and most of them only last about a month or two!! Seriously.. don't go to the dark side, they all start out fairly harmless, then after about a week they turn into bitter, heartless, lying, deceptive monsters without a soul. You will be hated more than you could possibly imagine.. better hope some lowly reserve whose life you just made HELL for 6 days doesn't find you in a dark parking lot after work one day.. lol

I don't understand how anyone with a conscience could possibly do this devil work.. Stay in dispatch..

Yeah ok, like pilots arent the biggest, whiniest babies in the world either...

Oh...no doubt...we are. I don't think anyone will argue with you over that. :D

That said: Do some research. Talk to current schedulers at Eagle (my company as well) if you can. While stated bluntly, there is some truth to what RPM posted. I will add though that lately, at least in my eperience, our schedulers have had to deal with at lot of crap that's not within their control - the biggest part of that is that we are grossly short staffed and it's fallen into their laps to have to crew flights for which there are no crews.