Advise please?

pdaddis

I'm going to preface this by saying that this is going to be way too long, but I hope to be thorough in explaining my story and issue. I have recently become a member to the growing community of violin sob stories that involves me being laid off and now looking for a new direction. While looking for immediate work to support my family, I am also looking into training/schooling to go towards new career opportunities. That's where ATC comes in. I have done research over the last couple of days and I now wish I would have been introduced to this career sooner. The potential has me very excited. I have spent hours online and have called the FAA and a university that offers CTI training in my area(Good info from FAA, just not specifics. No response yet from CTI). Unfortunately, it appears as though I may be too late. That's why I'm writing this in hopes of some quick guidance from experienced people, because I feel time is of the essence. I have zero experience, so I believe my only options are CTI or OTS. Next, I'm 28, turning 29 in November. Which pretty much takes me out of CTI because I don't believe I have enough time to finish the training. Unless there is a fast track way that I don't know of. Which leaves me with OTS. When I spoke to FAA, the gentleman said that he does not know when there may be another public announcement but he's sure it wouldn't be until at least next year, and from the tone of the forums, it appears as though the OTS route is a couple year process as well. So I guess after all that rambling, I'm just wondering if someone with some useful info would help me get a definitive answer. If I can put in the hard work, is it even possible? If so, what would be my best course of action? Or is it just a pipe dream, and should I just forget about it? I know I'm ignorant, but I'm a good man just looking for some advise. Thank You.