Advice on where to go?

Urp99

A little background on myself, I'm 45 years old and spent most of my life in general aviation maintenance. I enjoy what I do, but not enough to do it 40 hours a week, 52 weeks a year. Several years ago I decided to try to do more flying (I've been a pilot since I was 17, just did it recreationally), and got my commercial license. I've spent the last year and half flying skydivers, had a lot of fun and built to 1500 hours, but now it's time to do something more serious. I went and finished my instrument rating this fall (I know, I do things backwards sometimes), and multi-engine rating, and would like to find a position that is somewhat long term, pays a living wage, and allows me to use both my pilot and mechanic ratings. I've always been a GA guy, and don't have any desire to fly for the regionals or airlines.
I've been thinking seriously about moving to Alaska, I spent a summer driving around up there in an old Ford truck several years ago and have been wanting to go back, I think I'd be a good fit up there. I know there are several members here that live and work in Alaska, anybody care to comment on the feasibility of finding work and relocating there in December? Also, any input on operators that would be good to work for vs who to stay away from?
Other than that, any advice on where else in the world to go? I live in the Midwest right now, and flying jobs aren't that plentiful, I'm looking for someplace that has a more active flying community.

Move to Alaska.
That's the plan! I'm just debating whether I should attempt it now, or if I'd be better off waiting until spring.
It depends on what kind of flying you want to do, best bet is to come up and hand out resumes in person. And don’t tell anyone you are a mechanic! I kid, a little (ask @Roger Roger).