ACS Slow Flight Definition

atpduck

Not too sure if I like the implications of the new definition of slow flight according to the Private Pilot ACS. http://www.flyingmag.com/pilot-examiners-debate-acs-definition-slow-flight. Learning, and becoming proficient at slow flight is one of the most important aspects of private pilot training. I believe the new ACS definition will alter the way some instructors teach slow flight in order to ensure that their students are able to pass the check ride. Slow flight without the stall warning horn on in a 172, come on!

I started learning slow flight this way a couple of weeks ago during the course of my CFI training. In the 172, we were essentially flying slow-flight at the aircraft's short field approach speed. Now, what I'd like to know, how do you fly slow flight per the ACS if an aircraft was originally certified and doesn't have a aural or visual stall warning system installed?

I started learning slow flight this way a couple of weeks ago during the course of my CFI training. In the 172, we were essentially flying slow-flight at the aircraft's short field approach speed. Now, what I'd like to know, how do you fly slow flight per the ACS if an aircraft was originally certified and doesn't have a aural or visual stall warning system installed?
The ACS says slow flight maneuver should be 5-10 knots above the 1G stall speed. It shouldn't matter if the plane doesn't have aural or visual stall warning system because you're not demonstrating the maneuver on that criteria

The ACS says slow flight maneuver should be 5-10 knots above the 1G stall speed. It shouldn't matter if the plane doesn't have aural or visual stall warning system because you're not demonstrating the maneuver on that criteria

Thank you for clarifying.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

Isn't the design criteria for a stall warning system that it activates 5kts prior to a stall? Hence why it's a WARNING system.